Beverly Yacht Club Trophies

S. Wiley Wakeman Memorial Trophy

The S. Wiley Wakeman Memorial Trophy is awarded to the winner of the Shields race at the Sou'wester Regatta.

Tiffany Bucket

The Tiffany Bucket is awarded to the Shields with the fastest sailing time from Marion to Edgartown for and prior to the Edgartown Regatta. This self-timed, informal race is measured from Centerboard Shoal off Bird Island to N8 off the Edgartown lighthouse. The Perpetual trophy, first awarded in 1977, is a galvanized bucket very carefully highlighted in gold with the stenciled time of the winners, and a Shields silhouette. The keeper is a small version of the same. The fastest time was in in 1982 – 2 hours 42 minutes by Joan Tiffany. The slowest time (admitted to) was in 1997 – 6 hours 1 minute - sailed by Walt Williams.

Mark S. Tirrell Memorial Trophy

The Mark S. Tirrell Trophy is awarded to the Shields with the best combined score in all the Twilight Series, which Mark loved so well. The winner must qualify in all the Twilight Series sailed each year and have the low point total score for 80% of the races sailed in the series.

Sherburne Memorial Bowl

The Sherburne Memorial Bowl was given to the Beverly Yacht Club by Kathy Saltonstall and Sis Morse. The award was reinstated in 1977 at the kind invitation of Kathy Saltonstall and is competed for annually. A trophy is awarded to a BYC skipper in each fleet, H-12 and Bullseye. The Bullseye skipper must have qualified in all regularly scheduled Thursday Ladies' Summer Series Races and have the best combined score for those series. The H-12 skipper must have qualified all regularly scheduled Thursday Ladies' Summer Series Races and have the best combined score for those series.

Beverly Cup – Series

The Beverly Cup is awarded to the sailboat with the best overall (average) score in any regular one-design series. In addition, the winner must qualify in the Series. The scores to be used in computing the averages are the same as those used to determine the Series winners. In case two or more sailboats have the same average score, the sailboat racing in the actively racing larger Fleet wins.

Beverly Cup - Season

The Beverly Cup is awarded to the sailboat with the best overall (average) score in all combined regular one-design series. In addition, the winner must qualify in each Series. The scores to be used in computing the averages are the same as those used to determine the series winners. In case two or more sailboats have the same average score, the sailboat racing in the actively racing larger Fleet wins.

Laura Bartlett Moore Bowl

The Laura Bartlett Moore Bowl is awarded by a committee of three, chaired by the H-12 Fleet Representative, to the Ladies' H-12 crew member and Club member who typifies Laurie's qualities of seamanship, sportsmanship, helpfulness, and good humor, in light air or a full gale.

Nora Cudahy Trophy

The Nora Cudahy Trophy is awarded to the H12 skipper who has qualified for all regularly scheduled Sunday Summer Series races and has the best combined score for those series.

Sportsmanship Trophy

The Sportsmanship trophy is awarded to the person or persons who, in the opinion of the Race Committee Chairperson, best exemplify the tradition of sportsmanship at the Beverly Yacht Club.

William G. Saltonstall Trophy

The William G. Saltonstall Trophy is given by his daughter, Joey, other members of the family, and many good friends in recognition of Bill's love for sailing, his joy in doing it with his family, and his contributions to racing at the Beverly Yacht Club, where he contributed with enthusiasm and pleasure in his H-12 or yawl, Arbella, for more than 50 years! This trophy is awarded to Beverly Yacht Club's Champion of Champions.

Visitor's Trophy

The United States Finn Association presented this Visitor's Trophy to the Beverly Yacht Club. It is awarded each year to the Club member who, in the opinion of the Commodore, does the most to advance national and international sailing competition.

Dr. John H. Cunningham Memorial Trophy

This trophy is given in memory of Dr. John H. Cunningham by his immediate family. It is awarded to the skipper with the best overall score in the J/80 Thursday Series, having qualified in all the Thursday Series sailed each year.

The Peggy Dyer Trophy

The Peggy Dyer Trophy was created by the Bullseye Fleet in 2001 and given by the Dyer family. It is awarded to a senior member of the Beverly Yacht Club family who reflects Peggy's dedication to the Club, love of sailing, and zest for life. In consultation with Bullseye Fleet members and Fleet Representative, past recipients and the Dyer family, the Race Chairperson will name the consensus candidate.

Van Rensselaer Memorial Trophy

The Van Rensselaer Memorial Trophy was first awarded in 1896, in memory of George Griswold Van Rensselaer. The Van Rensselaer Trophy is awarded to the winner of a pursuit race with staggered starts for one-design and handicap Fleets.

Thacher Family Trophy

The Thacher Family Trophy is awarded to the first Shields crossing the finish line in the Van Rensselaer Memorial Trophy Race.

Goodwin-Thacher Trophy

The Goodwin-Thacher Trophy is awarded to the winner in a race for Bullseyes on Van Rensselaer Day.

Mary C. B. Cumming Memorial Trophy

Awarded since 1928, the Mary C. B. Cumming Memorial Trophy is awarded to the winner in a race for H-12's on Van Rensselaer Day.

North Star Award

The North Star Award is named in honor of Peggs Francis and Joey Dubois for their countless hours of service to the Beverly Yacht Club and in particular to the Ladies' H-12 Fleet. Their many years of dedication and commitment have instilled a tradition of selfless mentoring and keen competition among the Fleet. With their boundless enthusiasm and quiet competence on the water and on land, they have been our North Star.

Upon recommendation of the Ladies' H-12 Fleet, this award will be presented to a BYC woman who has demonstrated Peggs's and Joey's commitment to helping advance women sailors, either through mentoring, or personal achievement in the sport of sailing - while never losing sight of the special joy and beauty of sailing on Buzzards Bay.

BYC PHRF Twilight Series Championship

The BYC PHRF Twilight Series Championship trophy is awarded to the sailboat with the best overall (average) score in all combined regular Wednesday Twilight Series races. In addition, the winner must qualify in each Series. The scores to be used in computing the averages are the same as those used to determine the Series winners.

John M. Buckley Memorial Trophy

This award was given by his family to memorialize our former Fleet Representative and Past Commodore, John M. Buckley, and in recognition of his love of sailing, the J/24 Fleet 16, and the Beverly Yacht Club.