menubar

Jr. Sailing Program 2022

   
Welcome to the 2022 BYC Junior Sailing Program!  Classes are for children ages 6 through 17 (and 18, if the individual turns 18 in 2022).  Membership is NOT required to take sailing classes, but priority for registration is given to current members, grandchildren of current members, and children who have previously taken classes at BYC. 

  

Heather Goodwin, Junior Sailing Committee Chair
Audrey Webb & Cam Tougas, Junior Sailing Directors

Junior Clubhouse: (508) 748-1737 (summers only)


SESSION DATES & REGISTRATION:

  • Pre-Season Clinic Week 1: Monday, June 20 - Thursday, June 23, 2022 
  • Pre-Season Clinic Week 2: Monday June 27 - Thursday, June 30, 2022 
  • Session 1: Tuesday, July 5 - Thursday, July 14, 2022 (No Classes Monday, July 4, 2022; Make up classes Friday, July 8, 2022) 
  • Session 2: Monday, July 18 - Thursday, July 28, 2022 
  • Session 3: Monday, August 1 - Thursday, August 11, 2022 

PROGRAM INFO:


PEGGS FRANCIS YOUNG SKIPPER SCHOLARSHIP:

The Peggs Francis Young Skipper Scholarship paves the way for up to two first-time junior sailors to participate in the Beverly Yacht Club’s Junior Sailing 420 Program each summer. Established in 2021 in loving memory of Margaret “Peggs” Francis, who treasured the BYC and Marion sailing community so much, this scholarship is awarded to young Marion residents who are not yet members of the club to experience the joys of yachting alongside their peers. To ensure camaraderie as the sailors move through the program, they must apply in a group of two or name a co-sailor who participates in the program but does not require financial assistance in their application. 

Please click here to apply for the scholarship.

The deadline to apply for this scholarship is Friday, April 15, 2022.